Skip to content..
Skip to left column..
Sutter LAFCO - Click to go to the home page.
Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO)
The Sutter Local Agency Formation Commission (Sutter LAFCO) is a state mandated commission that oversees boundary changes to cities and special districts, the formation of new agencies including incorporation of new cities, the establishment of spheres of influence which identify the probable future boundaries of governmental agencies and the consolidation of existing agencies. The broad goals of the commission are to ensure the orderly formation of local government agencies, to preserve agricultural and open space lands, and to discourage urban sprawl.

Sutter LAFCO is comprised of two members of the Sutter County Board of Supervisors appointed by the Board; two City Council members appointed by the City Selection Committee (one member from the City of Yuba City and one member from the City of Live Oak); two Special District members appointed by the Independent Special District Selection Committee; and one public member appointed by the other Commissioners.

The County, cities and independent districts within Sutter County each contribute to the budgetary needs of LAFCO.

** Public Notice **
The Sutter Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) has an opening for one Sutter County citizen to serve as a public member to fill a vacancy beginning in May 2017 for a term expiring in 2021. If you're interested in serving as a citizen member, please view the PDF below for more information.

Commission Members
  • County Member
  • County Member
  • City Member
  • City Member
  • District Member
  • District Member
  • Public Member
  • County Alternate Member  
  • City Alternate Member
  • District Alternate Member
  • Public Alternate Member
Mat Conant
Larry Munger
Preet Didbal - Chairperson
Jason Banks
Gary Marler
Don Cochran - Vice-Chairperson
Joginder Cheema Pardesi
Ron Sullenger
Stan Cleveland
David Rai
Rupinder Jawanda
The meetings are held on the fourth Thursday of the month at 4:00 p.m. Refer to the agenda for the meeting location.

Contact Information
Executive Officer: John Benoit
Address: P.O. Box 2694
Granite Bay, CA 95746
Phone Number: (707) 592-7528
Email Address:

Clerk: Paige Hensley
Phone Number: (530) 218-0886

Additional Links

Adobe Acrobat PDF  This is an Adobe Acrobat PDF file.
You can download a free PDF reader from Adobe.